Back With My Ex: Thailand

Since I got back together with my ex, Thailand, things have been going quite smoothly. We’re happy now. Well, I’m happy now. Mr. Land o’ Smiles is always happy. It’s like I could be anyone, and he wouldn’t even notice with all the bikini-clad tourists around here, but I guess I’ll just have to get used to that.

He does get jealous about one thing, though. He really doesn’t like the love letter he found from me to Hong Kong. In all the time we were together before, he complains, he never got a letter like that.

It wasn’t for lack of feeling, I tell him. I love you more, I say. But after a few months of flirting with China, only to have him throw up all over your face, anyone would fall madly in love with Hong Kong. And while Hong Kong will remain a very memorable one-night stand (uh hum, okay, we might have continued our affair for several nights, on more than one occasion…but who’s counting?), it was just a fling. Thailand and I go way back…to 2011. And our relationship was on an entirely different level.

Anyway, here’s my attempt to clear up any confusion about who holds my heart. Better late than never.

Dear Thailand,

I wasn’t fair to you before. I admitted my love for you, yes, but I didn’t shout it from the top of Mt. Kangchenjunga in India like I should have. The reason is because you were my first love, and I wasn’t yet sure what lay beyond your borders. Did I love you for the amazing country you are, or just because I didn’t know any better? Would I love another country just the same?

Now I know. There is no other country like you, Thailand. I’ve not yet seen them all, but I’ve seen enough to know my love for you will probably never be topped. And it’s not just for your flawless good looks and your splendid personality. It’s not only for your karmic beliefs, your aversion to fighting and your ability to accept all people with open arms (except those bikini-clad girls, but I’ll let it slide). It’s not even just because you give a damn good massage and you’re smokin’ hot. In fact, sometimes you’re so hot I can’t stand it!

Loong Dum Beach, Koh Samet Thailand

Loong Dum Beach, Koh Samet Thailand

I love you because of how you make me feel. When I’m with you I’m relaxed, confident and in control, yet I’m motivated, carefree and, in reality, have no control at all. I never know when or if my bus will actually arrive, whether or not I’ll have a job or where I’ll live when I do get one. When I’m with you, I’m completely okay with knowing nothing except that everything always works out how it should.

I love you because when I arrived at your airport for the second time, I felt like I had come home. When I took a taxi, you told me (via the driver) you thought I was beautiful. You said it four times – three in Thai and once in English – just to make sure I understood, which was probably necessary after four months in China and six weeks in India where the only comments I got on my appearance were various renditions of, “What happened to your face?”

Trust me. I fell in love with you all over again in that moment, and I knew that following my heart back to you was the best decision I could have made. You kept a piece of my heart when I left you last time, Thailand, and I’m pretty sure it will be yours forever.

With more love than Hong Kong,

MissAdventure


Back With My Ex: Thailand
Written by:Jessica J. Hill
13 thoughts on “Back With My Ex: Thailand

  1. Hong Kong was reading over your shoulder as you wrote that last line. And for some reason, I see him walking down the beach, head down, and making a “damn it” kick in the sand. Thailand saw HK leave and is now laughing in glee.

    You heart breaker. 🙂

    • You deserve an award for Best Comment Ever! It’s not the first time I’ve been called a heart breaker, but HK is luckier than most. Him and I will probably rendezvous once or twice again in the future 😉

  2. Wonderful blog, thanks for the insight into you and your beloved Thailand. I am wondering if you are willing to share. We’ve never met but I was recently shown that I am meant to build a bridge there, with women. To empower them. I am wondering now, how it will be.

Leave a Reply

