Carving my Path

After graduating college and job searching for nearly two years, I realized I still don’t know what I want to do. Growing up, I always had at least a hint of an idea, so my sudden and complete loss for a life plan led me to ask myself what I know for certain, and each time the answer remained the same: I want to travel.

There’s something both inspiring and fulfilling about traveling – whether just visiting for photographic purposes or immersing myself in the culture – that allows me to walk away with a lifetime of memories and a plethora of knowledge.

I want the complete experience, as I always do when it comes to life’s best pleasures (chocolate, wine, men…), so I found a job teaching English in Thailand, the Land of Smiles, and I booked a one-way ticket.

In the process of researching the vast teaching possibilities, obtaining my certificate to teach English as a second language, and choosing a country, I discovered another thing I know for certain: I love learning.

Maybe a permanent teaching career is in my future? People keep telling me there’s no hurry; to let life carve it’s own path. And while that’s a thought both intriguing and terrifying, I’ve decided to embrace it. I’m building my path with beautiful stepping stones, meant to be savored slowly and remembered forever, instead of paving it smooth and heading nowhere fast.

I’m entering this chapter of my life with an open mind, and without expectations. I plan to lose myself in the Thai language and culture, because a wise man once told me when I was first navigating the chaotic streets of Los Angeles that the only way to find my way is to go get lost. And I believe him.

After all, there’s always something to be learned from an unexpected adventure down the road less traveled.

4 thoughts on “Carving my Path

  1. Jess,
    You are an amazing writer that matches your amazing personality. I am so anxious to follow your adventures. Be safe and embrace!
    Love, Angie

  2. Can I ask where/from what organization you obtained your certificate to teach English as a second language? I too am very passionate about living and teaching abroad and would welcome any information you could provide! Thank you.

    • Hello Kerra,

      I’d be happy to help with any of your questions. I did the same thing before I left! I did an online TEFL/TESOL course from International TESOL Teacher Training (http://tesol-tefl.com/). There are thousands of programs out there, so you have to watch our for scams. Mine was simple – they just sent PDF’s of information and gave me tasks to complete in a certain amount of time. I feel like it helped me quite a bit, and I can happily recommend it.
      Depending on where you want to teach, you might not need one though. In Thailand, for instance, they will tell you they want one, but if you go to a school without signing through an agency, they’ll be happy to give you a job that day, regardless of your training. If you want any more info on that, just ask!

      Good luck on your journey. It’s definitely one worth embarking.

Leave a Reply

