My Apartment in China

DSC_0007

A lot of you have asked about my living situation in China and all I have to say is it’s no Thai hut, but it’s a nice enough place to live and for the price (free!) I’d even go as far to say it’s a spectacular place to live. Plus, it came furnished, so a girl can’t complain.

This is me not complaining. Seriously.

I never ever thought I could actually enjoy a cold shower, while standing over my toilet, but it turns out, I can! After an ass-kicking run in this wicked humidity, it’s totally possible. This must be why my parents always told me to never say “never ever…”

It’s a good thing I don’t particularly enjoy cooking (okay, that might be an understatement). If “fun” were in the word “cooking,” this hallway substitute for a kitchen would surely take it all out. But it is nice for eggs and pasta, and maybe I’ll even get really creative after a while when I get sick of Chinese food and need something more…French. Like, French toast. Mmmmm.

The mosquito net around my bed has yet to prove useful, but I’d be lying if I didn’t claim to like it for the princess vibe it offers. And the purple comforter helps too. There’s still some of my 16-year-old self inside – the girl who decked out her new car with every pink princess decal I could find – but luckily it stays hidden. Kind of.

I didn’t decorate, but somebody left me this lovely Chinese wall hanging. I kept it up to remind me I’m in China, just in case the white-girl-walking stares ever tire and it becomes possible to forget. On second thought, that won’t happen, so I’ll probably be replacing it soon enough with pictures of white-girl-in-Thailand or something equally cool.

The same kind person who left the beautiful art also left me the not-so-beautiful, forever-peeling couch. If you sit near the white hole, you might walk around the rest of the day carrying pieces of couch on the backs of your legs. That would probably never ever happen to me….err.

I wasnt kidding in my last post when I said I had my own washer! It even works. The repair man told me so, after I called it in broken. These things don’t come with a manual, folks.

I would also never lock myself out of my apartment. Nope, never ever.

Okay, there was that one time at my first apartment in Los Angeles when my three roommates and I – yes, all four of us – locked our keys on the opposite side of the door and, because our options were to pay a fortune or wait until morning, we ordered pizza delivered (of course we had our phones, duh!) and had a wonderful, starlit party on the roof of The Metropolitan – one of the taller buildings in downtown L.A. I think we even managed to sleep.

This time, I only had to wait two hours, which is good because the roof wouldn’t have been nearly as entertaining alone. However, I would now probably have a newfound respect for my princess mosquito net. It seems there is a bright side to everything.

20 thoughts on “My Apartment in China

    • If I look to the right, it’s beautiful. If I look straight ahead, I feel like everyone in the apartment building across the way is probably wondering what I’m doing outside looking at them…

  1. Just have to say that night on the roof was fun! I totally forgot why we ended up there but you sure remember!

    I still can’t believe you are in China! Does your cell phone work there? Just wondering how that works…

    Love Kristina

    • Ahh I’m so glad I got to hear from two of my old roomies! I cancelled my U.S. cell but I have a Chinese number as well as a landline. I usually just use Skype to call home because it’s really cheap, and Facebook and email are great as well. You should bring the family for a visit!

  2. Good tour of your apartment! I’m sorry to say my apartment in China was a bit nicer…mainly because I had a real shower! Haha. I hope you continue to enjoy it though!

  3. The washer looks just like mine….You have a nice apartment. The humidity has broken here in Dalian. The wind is kicking up and the air is cooler; can’t wait for Autumn! Hope all continues to go well!

    • Thanks, Jordan! The weather sounds similar here. It’s been much cooler and less humid the past several days and it even cools off to a very comfortable temperature at night. I hear it gets quite cold in the winter months though. Is the same true in Dalian?

  4. Cool apartment. :) I just settled in mine in Taipei. I am also happy that I have a proper shower door and such (I don’t want to crack my head open in the middle of the night when I need to use the toilet).

Leave a Reply

